Hyundai’s Josh Buchan set for revenge as TCR Australia heads to Symmons Plains

12 March, 2024

  • Josh Buchan commenced his TCR Championship-winning defense with second place in the opening round at Sandown
  • HMO Customer Racing has strong form at Symmons Plains as the defending round winners
  • Tom Oliphant is aiming to re-start his title attack and recover lost ground after technical issues dented his debut with HMO Customer Racing at Sandown

Hyundai’s Josh Buchan and HMO Customer Racing teammate Tom Oliphant are both seeking revenge at Symmons Plains Raceway as the 2024 TCR Australia Championship resumes for round two in Tasmania this weekend.

Buchan, who scored a podium finish on his TCR debut at the short yet fast circuit in 2021, was robbed of victory the next year when he was penalised for a rule that no longer exists (weaving under the safety car) and then denied a front-row start in 2023 due to a technical issue.

This year, having kick-started his TCR Championship defence with second place in the opening round at Sandown, the 29-year-old reigning TCR Australia champion is aiming for redemption on the Apple Isle and reclaim the lead in the drivers’ standings.

Similarly, former British Touring Car Championship race winner Oliphant is hoping to re-start his championship attack at Symmons Plains and recover lost ground after a tricky debut with HMO Customer Racing, where technical gremlins hampered the top speed of his Hyundai i30 N TCR.

Oliphant is confident the team has rectified the issues after a positive test session and plans to unleash some aggressive driving tactics on the technical 2.4km circuit.

Having made his first appearance in the TCR Australia Championship in Tasmania last year, Symmons Plains will be the first circuit that Oliphant has previous experience and says it has a lot of familiar characteristics from ‘old school’ circuits in his native Great Britain.

HMO Customer Racing will have two 30-minute practice sessions at Symmons Plains Raceway on Friday afternoon to fine tune the cars ahead of qualifying on Saturday at 12:05pm and the opening race, which starts at 3:15pm. The team will return to the track on Sunday for the two remaining races, with the top-10 finishers from Saturday’s first race reversed for the second sprint.

Fans can catch all the action from Symmons Plains Raceway and the Motorsport Australia Shannons Speed Series live and free via 7plus


Car 1: i30 N TCR - Josh Buchan

“I love Symmons Plains as a racetrack; it’s a little bullring! Traditionally in the past, it has been a happy hunting ground for HMO Customer Racing as a team. For me, I scored my first podium on my TCR debut in Tassie in 2021 and have always had good pace at Symmons Plains. But last year we were chasing a technical issue all weekend that set us back, and the year before I was on for the win but copped a penalty for a punishment that no longer exists. So, I’m looking to avenge those results this time around. I’m pretty keen to get one back.”


Car 15: i30 N TCR – Tom Oliphant

“We didn’t have the greatest start to the season at Sandown, so there is only one way option for me and that is to go absolutely hell for leather and try to reclaim as many points as possible. I have absolutely nothing to lose, and that makes me a little more dangerous. Josh has proven the i30 N is competitive and there is no reason why I wouldn’t be up the front where he was at Sandown. Basically, I am going to Symmons to start my championship again.”

Driver Information


Josh Buchan

Tom Oliphant


22/01/1995 (29)

07/02/2003 (20)


Hyundai i30 Sedan N TCR

Hyundai i30 N TCR




TCR seasons competed

2021, 2022, 2023, 2024

2023, 2024

TCR Poles



TCR Podiums



TCR Wins



TCR World Ranking



2024 TCR Australia Championship Standings 






Ben Bargwanna

Peugeot 308 R



Josh Buchan

Hyundai i30 N TCR



Jordan Cox

Peugeot 308 TCR



Zac Soutar

Audi RS3 LMS



Ryan Casha

Peugeot 308 TCR



Clay Richards

Cupra Leon TCR



Tony D’Alberto

Honda Civic Type R



John Martin

Honda Civic Type R



Dylan O’Keefe

Lynk & Co 03 TCR



Aaron Cameron

Peugeot 308 TCR



Tom Oliphant

Hyundai i30 N TCR



2024 TCR Australia Championship, Round 2: Symmons Plains Raceway

Track Facts



Launceston, Tasmania


2.411 km

TCR Pole Record

55.2931sec, Nathan Morcom (Hyundai i30 N) - 2022

TCR Lap Record

55.7811sec, Jay Hanson (Audi RS3 LMS) - 2022

TCR Schedule - Round 2: Symmons Plains Raceway

Friday March 15

Saturday March 16

Sunday March 17

Practice 1: 10:55am

Qualifying: 12:05pm

Race 2: 12:15pm

Practice 2: 1:45pm

Race 1: 3:15pm

Race 3: 3:15pm


Hyundai i30 N TCR

The Hyundai i30 N TCR is one of the most successful models in the global TCR Championship.

Developed by Hyundai Motorsport’s Customer Racing division in Germany, the i30 N TCR represented Hyundai’s first steps into circuit racing when it was first launched in 2017.

The car immediately proved its performance potential by winning the first race of the inaugural FIA WTCR season in 2018 and finished the season with customer teams taking both the drivers’ and teams’ titles.

Its success continued when Hyundai’s customer racing team added a second consecutive FIA WTCR drivers’ title in 2019 during a season in which Hyundai teams won the TCR Championship in eight different series spread across four continents, including the first TCR Australia Championship with Will Brown and HMO Customer Racing.

Since then, the Hyundai i30 N TCR is the most successful model variant in the TCR Australia Championship with 19 victories.

Based on the road-going i30 N model, in-line with the TCR regulations, it is powered by a two-litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine connected to a six-speed sequential gearbox and is fitted with a 100-litre fuel tank.

  Hyundai i30 Sedan N TCR Specifications  
Length 4,445 mm
Width 1,950 mm
Wheelbase 2,650 mm
Weight 1,265 kg (including driver)
Engine 1,998 cc turbocharged four-cylinder, DOHC, 16 valves
Power 257 kW at 7,000 rpm
Torque 450 Nm at 3,500 rpm
Transmission Six-speed sequential with paddle shift, front-wheel drive
Suspension (Front) Fully adjustable MacPherson strut with coil springs & anti-roll bar
Suspension (Rear) Fully adjustable four-arm multi-link with coil springs & anti-roll bar
Steering Electrically assisted rack and pinion
Brakes (Front) Six-piston callipers and 380 mm ventilated disc
Brakes (Rear) Two-piston callipers with 278 mm disc
Wheels 18” x 10” Braid alloys specifically designed for Hyundai Motorsport
Tyres Kumho TCR slicks
Fuel Tank 100 litres with dry-brake system


About the 2023 TCR Australia Championship

The 2023 TCR Australia Championship consists of seven rounds, each with three or four races.

This season will include two rounds of the TCR World Tour in Australia, including Sydney Motorsport Park and the season finale Bathurst International at Mount Panorama in November.

The 2024 TCR Australia Championship will be broadcast live on 7plus.


 2024 TCR Australia Championship Schedule

Round 1

February 9-11, Sandown Raceway, Victoria

Round 2

May 15-17, Symmons Plains, Tasmania

Round 3

April 12-14, Phillip Island, Victoria

Round 4

May 31-June 2, The Bend Motorsport Park, South Australia

Round 5

July 12-14, Queensland Raceway, Queensland

Round 6

November 1-3, Sydney Motorsport Park, New South Wales*

Round 7

November 8-10, Mount Panorama, New South Wales*


*denotes round of the 2024 TCR World Tour